Delmy Patricia

Delmy, 20, is in her first year of college at the Modular Abierta in San Salvador where she is working toward obtaining a law degree. She lives at home with nine other people: her father, who works in a hardware store, her mother, a homemaker, her three older brothers, two sisters-in-law and her infant niece. Delmy awakes each day at 5am, and after a 30-minute walk to school, she begins classes at 7:40. After arriving home in the afternoon or evening, she dedicates herself to helping around the house and completing schoolwork before turning in around 9:30pm.

We asked Delmy to answer a few questions to help you get to know her better. Below are her responses! 

Why do you think your education is important?

The most important thing to me is my education. We all strive to be good people and I want to be the type of person who serves as an example to others.

Describe someone who has inspired or motivated you:

My family supports me and tells me that I have to fight for what they couldn’t do; they want me to be better than them. They help me, support me and guide me, showing me affection so I can move forward. Life goes on, and they encourage me when I feel like I’m falling. I’m so appreciative of them.

How has the crime/violence in this country affected you personally?

The violence doesn’t just scare me, it terrifies me knowing what could happen to my family. But I always keep in mind that God is the only one who says how and why certain things happen. The gang members maintain control through fear; it makes them feel powerful. So, yes, it’s affected me but I always ask God to watch over and protect me and my family from any stumbling block.

How do you think positive change can come about in your community or country?

Positive change can come about through creating more jobs, encouraging children and teaching them skills, creating organizations to help children who’ve been abandoned and don’t have support, a bigger police force and the creation of laws that outlaw gangs.

Tell us about your community service project.

I’m working [with other scholarship students] in a small garden. It’s important to me to be raising vegetables and other things.

What do you do in your free time?

I like to go on walks, read, listen to music and watch TV.

What is your favorite book or genre?

I like the books “A Doll’s House” and “Lazarillo de Tormes,” as well as crime novels.

What is your favorite music?

Electronic music, bachata, salsa, merengue and pop.

What are your best qualities?

I’m caring, friendly, empathetic, social and understanding.

What is something surprising about you that only a few people know?

I’d like to sing in a bachata group.